The National Federation of State Poetry Societies (NFSPS) is a non-profit organization, exclusively educational and literary. Its purpose is to recognize the importance of poetry with respect to national cultural heritage. It is dedicated solely to the furtherance of poetry on the national level and serves to unite poets in the bonds of fellowship and understanding. 

The NFSPS sponsors fifty annual poetry contests with cash prizes totaling over $6,000, including a grand prize of $1,000. It also sponsors the Stevens Manuscript contest for a collection of poems by one poet, with a cash prize of $1,000 plus publication, the BlackBerry Peach Poetry Awards, with total cash prizes of  $1,750.00, plus publication, and the College Undergraduate Poetry competition, which awards two $500 prizes, plus publication. 

Strophes is the national society's official newsletter. It is published quarterly with national news but also with state societies' news. It announces numerous contests and lists the national board members and state presidents. The summer issue provides names of judges and winners for the national contests. Annual conventions are conducted for business, instruction, and fellowship. Poets who attend share poetry, ideas, and inspiration, which they carry home to their local organizations. The Federation Library Collection is housed at Baylor University in Waco, Texas. In addition to the Encores (prize poem anthologies which contain winners of the national poetry contests), the collection includes books and materials provided by organizations and individuals. 

The emblem of the Federation is the Athenian Greek coin insignia that appears on all NFSPS publications and has been incorporated into the design of the medal (see above) which is presented to NFSPS presidents at the end of their terms. The members of the Federation are members of an NFSPS affiliated state organization. Any poet wishing to know the location of his or her state society may contact  the Membership Chair of NFSPS for this information. 

 Honorary Chancellor - Soon to be named

Executive Board: The Executive Board shall be comprised of all elected officers of the NFSPS and the immediate past president. This body shall serve as the governing body of NFSPS. [NFSPS Bylaws, Article VI-Executive Board, Section A.] 

Elective Board 

President:  Joseph Cavanaugh, 3722 Longford Cir Ormond Beach, FL 

1st Vice President: Steven Concert, 49 Kitchen Ave, Harveys Lake, PA 18618 
Contests Sponsors/Brochure Chair 

2nd Vice President: Jessica Temple, 103 2nd Ave SW Fort WaltonBeach, FL 32548 
College Undergraduate Poetry Competition Chair 

3rd Vice President: JoAn Howerton, 1550 Trent Blvd Apt. 1403, Lexington KY 40515 
Special Awards Chair 

4th Vice President: Peter Stein (address and email not available) 

Chancellor: M. Palowski Moore

 1st Vice Chancellor: Kevin Campbell 

2nd Vice Chancellor: Susann Moeller

Treasurer: Linda Harris, 49512 SE Weber Rd, Sandy, OR 97055-7425 

Secretary: Polly Opsahl, 7316 Huntington, Oscoda, MI 48750 
Manningham Trust Competition Chair 

Immediate Past President: Paul Ford
Presidential Advisors Chair, Learning Central

Appointive Board 

Strophes Editor: Julie Cummings, 9428 Fallen Rock Road, Conifer, CO 80433

Board Liason to State Societies: Russell H. Strauss 18 S. Rembert, St. Memphis, TN 38104 

Judges Chair: M. Palowski Moore

Encore Editor: Kathy Cotton, 1019 Applewood Lane, Anna, IL 62906 

Historian: Nancy Baass, 408 E. Warren AVE., Victoria, TX 77901-4847 

Legal Councelor and Parliamentarian: Susan Stevens Chambers, 57310 166th Lane, Good Thunder, MN 56037 

Librarian: Catherine L'Herisson, 518 Grinnell Drive, Garland, TX 75043 - 

Poetry Day/Poetry Month Liaison: Amy Jo Zook, 3520 State Rd. 56, Mechanicsburg, OH 43044 

Publicity Chair: Bernadette Perez, 19645 Hwy 314 Belen NM 87002 

Stevens Manuscript Competition Co-Chair:  Eleanor Berry,  2230 SE Laura Lane, Dallas, OR 97338 

Strophes Associate Editor: Julie K. Shavin 

Youth Chair: Open

NFSPS.COM Website: Billy Pennington, P.O. Box 7842, Moore, OK 73153 

Past NFSPS Presidents: 
*Cecilia Parsons Miller, *Clinton Larson, *Robert D. West, *Edna Meudt, *Marvin Davis Winsett, *Max Golightly, *Hans Juergensen, 
*Russell Ferrall, *Jean Jenkins, *Catherine Case Lubbe, *Glenn Swetman, *Carl Morton, *Alice Briley, *Wauneta Hackleman, 
*Jack Murphy, *Barbara Stevens, *Henrietta Kroah, *Jerry Robbins, Pat Stodghill, *Wanda Blaisdell,*Ralph Hammond, Amy Jo Zook, Susan S. Chambers, *Clarence P. Socwell, *Madelyn Eastlund, Budd Powell Mahan, Doris Stengel, Nancy Baass, Russell H. Strauss, Jeremy M. Downes, Eleanor Berry, *James Barton, Julie Cummings, and Paul Ford

Past NFSPS Honorary Chancellors 
 Joseph Auslander, John Crowe Ransom, Glenn Ward Dresbach, Jesse Stuart, Grace Noll Crowell, Jean Starr Untermeyer, Loring Williams, Harry M. Meachum, John Williams Andrews, August Derleth, William E. Stafford, N. Scott Momaday, Richard Armour, Richard Eberhart, James Dickey, Judson Jerome, John Ciardi, Robert Coles, Richard Shelton, Marcia Lee Masters, Robert Penn Warren, Richard Wilber, William E. Stafford, Rodney Jones, Tess Gallagher, Michael Bugeja, David Wagoner, Maxine Kumin, Naomi Shihab Nye, Li Young Lee, Lewis Turco, Ted Kooser, Natasha Trethewey, Peter Meinke, Jo McDougall,  David J. Rothman, and Lance Larsen